Log in



Log in


The IAO has been led by teachers, practitioners, and scholars whose vision and dedication shaped the mission, as well as the spirit, of the organization.

Presidents are elected by the membership of the IAO. Past Presidents provide advice and leadership to the Board of Directors regarding past practices and other matters to assist the Board in governing the Association.

1919   John R. Newcomb, M.D., Indianapolis
1920   William S. Tomlin, M.D., Indianapolis
1921   E.J. Lent, M.D., South Bend
1922   Oscar C. Breitenback, M.D., Columbus
1923   D.O. Kearby, M.D., Indianapolis
1924   C. Norman Howard, M.D., Warsaw
1925   Bernard J. Larkin, M.D., Indianapolis
1926   Marcus Ravdin, M.D., Evansville
1927   LafayettePage, M.D., Indianapolis
1928   B.W. Egan, M.D., Logansport
1929   A.E. Bulson, M.D., Ft. Wayne
1930   H.A. Van Osdal, M.D., Indianapolis
1931   John Carmack, M.D., Indianapolis
1932   J.R. Gillium, M.D., Terre Haute
1933   Robert Masters, M.D., Indianapolis
1934   J. Kent Leasure, M.D., Indianapolis
1935   O.G. Brubaker, M.D., North Manchester
1936   J.R. Dillinger, M.D., French Lick
1937   W.F. Hughes, M.D., Indianapolis
1938   E.E. Holland, M.D.
1939   C.W. Rutherford, M.D., Indianapolis
1940   Marlow W. Manion, M.D., Indianapolis
1941   Fred McK. Ruby, M.D., Union City
1942   Noel S. McBride, M.D., Terre Haute
1943   Kenneth L. Craft, M.D., Indianapolis
1944   Orris T. Allen, M.D., Terre Haute
1945   Claude A. Robison, M.D., Frankfort
1946   Claude A. Robison, M.D., Frankfort
1947   W. E. Stewart, M.D., Terre Haute
1948   Russel A. Sage, M.D., Indianapolis
1949   Byron Lingerman, M.D., Crawfordsville
1950   Edwin W. Dyar, M.D., Indianapolis
1951   J .V. Cassady, M.D., South Bend
1952   Edmund I. VanBuskirk, M.D., Lafayette
1953   Myron S. Harding, M.D., Indianapolis
1954   Robert Smith, M.D., New Castle
1955   C.P. Clark, M.D., Indianapolis
1956   John R. Swan, M.D., Indianapolis
1957   Hugh A. Kuhn, M.D., Hammond
1958   Richard Good, M.D., Kokomo
1959   Hershel S. Smith, M.D., Bloomington
1960   John J. Flick, M.D., Indianapolis
1961   Ernest L. Dietl, M.D., South Bend
1962   Guy A. Owlsey, M.D., Hartford City
1963   J. Lawrence Sims, M.D., Indianapolis
1964   Walter J. Aagesen, M.D., Anderson
1965   Milton W. Erdel, M.D., Frankfort
1966   John M. Thompson, M.D., South Bend
1967   Lewis E. Morrison, M.D., Indianapolis
1968   M. Richard Harding, M.D., Indianapolis

1969   David E. Brown, M.D., Indianapolis
1970   Alvin L. Henry, M.D., Columbus
1971   George A. Clark, M.D., Indianapolis
1972   Kenneth F. Isenogle, M.D., Ft. Wayne
1973   Robert Rouen, M.D., Elkhart
1974   J. William Wright, M.D., Indianapolis
1975   Lee H. Trachtenberg, M.D., Munster
1976   Carl B. Sputh, M.D., Indianapolis
1977   Paul Honan, M.D., Lebanon
1978   John Bizal, M.D., Evansville
1979   Donald P. Bixler, M.D., Anderson
1980   Cammile K. Parker, M.D., Logansport
1981   Richard Boling, M.D., Elkhart
1982   Daniel R. Evans, M.D., Valparaiso*
1983   Terry W. Talley, M.D., Evansville*
1984   Forrest D. Ellis, M.D., Indianapolis*
1985   Richard J. Houck, M.D., Michigan City*
1986   James Reid, M.D., Marion*
1987   D. Dean Cofield, M.D., Bloomington*
1988   Ralph Stewart, M.D., Vincennes
1989   Leo Watson, M.D., Kokomo*
1990   Francis Price, M.D., Indianapolis*
1991   Francis Price, M.D., Indianapolis*
1992   James A. Fountain, M.D., Indianapolis*
1993   William Penland, M.D., Evansville*
1994   Louis Cantor, M.D., Indianapolis*
1995   Louis Cantor, M.D., Indianapolis*
1996   Scott Miller, M.D., Ft. Wayne*
1997   Scott Miller, M.D., Ft. Wayne*
1998   C. Kenneth Fischer, M.D., Evansville*
1999   Douglas Zale, M.D., Chesterton*
2000   Douglas Zale, M.D., Chesterson*
2001   Daniel Robinson, M.D., Indianapolis*
2002   Daniel Robinson, M.D., Indianapolis*
2003   Charles O. McCormick, III, M.D., Greenwood*
2004   Charles O. McCormick, III, M.D., Greenwood*
2005   Derek Sprunger, M.D., Indianapolis*
2006   Derek Sprunger, M.D., Indianapolis*
2007   G. Gregory Clark, M.D., Indianapolis*
2008   G. Gregory Clark, M.D., Indianapolis*
2009   Robert Larew, M.D., Lafayette*
2010   Robert Larew, M.D., Lafayette*
2011   Andrew Tharp, M.D., Evansville*
2012   Andrew Tharp, M.D., Evansville*
2013   Michael Hodges, M.D, Evansville*
2014   Michael Hodges, M.D., Evansville*
2015   Adam Brazus, M.D., Indianapolis*
2016   Adam Brazus, M.D., Indianapolis*
2017   Stephen Klapper, M.D., Indianapolis*

2018   Stephen Klapper, M.D., Indianapolis*

2019   Yara Catoira-Boyle, M.D.*

2020   Yara Catoira-Boyle, M.D.*

2021   Ramana Moorthy, M.D.*

2022   Ramana Moorthy, M.D.*

* Denotes current members of the IAO

Address: 125 W. Market Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46204 | Phone: 317-577-3062

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software