Log in



Log in

Advocacy Ambassadors

The IAO and the IU School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology  have been strong supporters of the AAO Advocacy Ambassador program.

Goals of the program include:

  • Engage and educate members-in-training (residents and those undergoing fellowship training) early on as to the importance of advocating for their profession (training future advocates for patients and for the profession);
  • Help members-in-training understand the importance of membership and active involvement in their respective state ophthalmology and subspecialty societies; and
  • Expose members-in-training to some of the critical issues in medicine being discussed by leaders in ophthalmology during the Mid-Year Forum and Council sessions (the Council is the policy advisory body to the Academy’s Board of Trustees).

Previous Indiana Advocacy Ambassadors include:



Manisha (Mia) Miller, MD
Avery Thau, MD

 2021  Katherine Chuang, MD
 Allison Fox, MD
 2019  CJ Areephanthu, MD
 Ashley Neiweem, MD
 2018  Enoche Kassa, MD
 Nicholas Moore, MD
 2017  Liese Albrecht, MD
 Priyanka Kanakamedala, MD
 2016  Whitney Boling, MD
 Leslie Tobe, MD
 2015  Sally Primus, MD
 Matt Zore, MD
 2014  Frank Hrisomalos, MD
 2013   Janine E Collinge, MD
 2012  Zachary N Burkhart, MD
 Brian C Miller, MD
 Elliot C McKee, MD
 2011  Melissa O Ajunwa, MD
 Eric R Stevens, MD PhD
 2010  Jennifer M Mercado, MD
 Matthew J Hauck, MD
 2009  Jennifer L Eikenberry, MD
 Yang Sun, MD
 Amy M Waddell, MD
 2008  Matthew G Guess, MD
 Vincent L Ray, MD
 Milan Shah, MD
 2007  Matthew G Guess, MD
 Vanessa E Ngakeng, MD
 2006  Vanessa E Ngakeng, MD

Left to Right: Louis Cantor, MD; Ashley Neiweem, MD; CJ Areephanthu, MD; Ramana Moorthy, MD

Address: 125 W. Market Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46204 | Phone: 317-577-3062

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software